Blogger – Philippa Armstrong: I love a sunburnt junkie

The following poem was written as a collaborative piece in class by the roomers group in 2011.  Our insincere apologies to anyone who holds “My Country by Dorothea Mackellar sacred..

I love a sunburnt junkie

A man of weeping veins

Of jagged fountain angels

who laugh at bloody pains

I shoved him four horizons

And glassed him with cruel glee

Rare beauty in the terror

The long dark night for me.

The stark-white ring-barked body

So tragic to the hoon

The sapphire-blue bruised track-marks

The blackened silver spoon

The lighting of the lighter

The mixing of the brew

I love my sunburnt junkie

Tho he never follows through

The core of my heart is the dunny

Above no roof, just blue sky

When sick in the guts all around us

It’s not just cattle that die

But then the juices they gather

And we can piss again

Taking a dump in the dunny

While steadily soaked by rain

I love a sunburnt junkie

Our man of weeping pain

Oh ragged men and women

Seeping down the drain

I love your four horizons

I love a jewel sea

There’s beauty in her terror

The long dark night for me.

Leave a Reply

